Club Tournaments and Social Events for 2019

Below is a list of all the tournaments which are open to all club members. The tournaments are friendly sessions and all senior members will be very welcome - come along and enjoy the tennis whatever your standard.

Unless stated all tournaments start promptly at 2.15pm - you need to arrive and be registered at 2pm or you may not be able to take part!!

Entry fees: £1 for all tournaments (except Dilley & Strawberry Tea which are £2).
Cash payable on the day please!!

Please bring Cakes or similar refreshments along; tea and coffee will be provided.
All tournaments have runners-up and winners prizes.



Sunday 28th April 2019 Club Sunday An all club Sunday session to kick off the new season.

Sunday 5th May 2019 Graham Hindle trophy A mixed doubles tournament for a new trophy named in honour of our former Chairman who passed away in 2015.

Thursday 16th May 2019 Wimbledon Ticket draw (at 7pm) You've got to be opted in to the LTA Wimbledon ballot to be able to enter (so long as you are registered to Histon Tennis Club with the BTM). Put your name up on the board in the club house against the tickets you are interested in.

Sunday 19th May 2019 Ladies Doubles The Ladies get their very own tournament and a chance to show off their silky skills.

Sunday 2nd June 2019 Club Sunday The first Sunday in June will be an all club rollup. Hopefully the Flaming June Half Marathon will all be done and dusted by the time the tennis starts.

Wednesday 5th June 2019 Wine and Cheese evening A great evening of tennis with free cheese and wine afterwards. This will go ahead regardless of the weather so please do support the organisers and come along.

Sunday 9th June 2019 Strawberry Tea tournament A friendly tournament washed down with a strawberry tea. A firm favourite with everyone.

Sunday 16th June 2019 Great British Tennis Weekend (2pm to 4pm) A chance for us all to show off our club and maybe recruit some new members in the process

Saturday 6th July 2019 (1pm start) Histon Feast Junior Open A tournament for the juniors as part of the Histon Feast celebrations.

Sunday 7th July 2019 The Anne Brown trophy Tournament named after a former stalwart of the club.

Saturday 13th July 2019 Mens Doubles An exciting doubles tournament for Men taken seriously by some and for fun by others.

Sunday 21st July 2019 (1pm start) Dilley Cup The highlight of the Histon grass court season with a (handicapped) mixed doubles tournament followed by a lavish spread of food, wine and beer. Another silverware occasion.

Sunday 28th July 2019 Club Sunday The last Sunday of July will be an all club session.

Sunday 11th August 2019 August Club tournament The imaginatively titled tournament that runs annually in the month of August.

Sunday 1st September 2019 Club Sunday The first Sunday in September will be an all club session.

Sunday 8th September 2019 Mens Singles Finals The final stages of the Mens Singles tournament.

Sunday 22nd September 2019 Pizza & Beer tournament Pizza and Beer and there's a chance a game of tennis might be involved as well.

Sunday 29th September 2019 Pizza & Beer tournament Reserved in case the tournament is cancelled the week before.